Damaged, Broken, Hurt

I don’t generally share my poetry, let alone a first draft of a poem I will probably end up tearing apart and rewriting in a few days and especially because I have not gotten into my poetry groove yet on this trip, but I was just thinking about this today and while it doesn’t reference anything as of recent in my life, I think it’s relevant nonetheless

Why are we attracted to damaged people?Broken people are not cracked

They are shattered

Missing pieces gone forever

Never quite whole again

What makes us want to fix the unfixable?

You can’t fill what is lost with love

There is no missing piece to fill in someone else

You just might end up hurt

Caught on the sharp edges 

Left with only your good intentions

There isn’t enough in the world to fix all that is broken

But you can try to shine bright enough

That your light shines through the cracks

Of what has been attempted to being put back together again

Published by

eatdrinkwalkwrite

This blog is a way I can talk about my upcoming travel adventures and will be the blog I use once I am finally abroad in a few months. I have a lot to get done and even more to look forward to.

Leave a Reply

